no upgrade when deploying
If there are no changes to the helm chart or the release-values no upgrade is performed. In our case we need to recreate the pods because images might have changed.
The old "Limit access from this project" setting (previously called "Limit CI_JOB_TOKEN access") was completely removed. For projects created before GitLab 15.9, the allowlist was disabled by default, allowing job token access from any project. In GitLab 18.0, this changed to requiring explicit allowlist entries. Projects still using the old settings or with empty allowlists will lose cross-project access when 18.0 enforces the allowlist.
If there are no changes to the helm chart or the release-values no upgrade is performed. In our case we need to recreate the pods because images might have changed.